MotoGP 2024, Marc Marquez and Joan Mir Swap Crew Chiefs


MotoGP 2024, Marc Marquez and Joan Mir Swap Crew Chiefs

Share this article
Marc Marquez dan Joan Mir (c) Gresini Racing, Honda Racing Corporation
Marc Marquez dan Joan Mir (c) Gresini Racing, Honda Racing Corporation – It’s no longer a secret that Marc Marquez and Joan Mir will undergo an unusual racing season in MotoGP 2024.

hari kesaktian pancasila

While Marquez moves from Repsol Honda to Gresini Racing, Joan Mir remains at Repsol Honda, but both will switch their entire crews.

Marquez didn’t bring his old crew from Honda to Gresini, except for his mechanic, Javi Ortiz. This means he no longer works with Santi Hernandez, the crew chief who accompanied him since Moto2 in 2011.

Example 300250

Marquez now works with Frankie Carchedi, who was actually Joan Mir’s former crew chief at Suzuki Ecstar.

Mir and Carchedi parted ways in 2023 after Suzuki decided to withdraw from MotoGP.

Meanwhile, Carchedi moved to Gresini Racing to become the crew chief for Fabio di Giannantonio, and Mir moved to Repsol Honda and was accompanied by crew chief Giacomo Guidotti.

hari kesaktian pancasila

However, in 2024, Mir was moved to the crew Marquez left behind, meaning he collaborated with Hernandez, while Guidotti was paired with Luca Marini.

Want to know the profiles of Frankie Carchedi and Santi Hernandez, both of whom are rich in experience and achievements? Here’s the overview.

Frankie Carchedi – Crew Chief Marc Marquez

Frankie Carchedi began his professional career as a suspension and electronics technician in the early 2000s, working in the British Superbike (BSB) and WorldSBK series.

In 2009, the man who also served as the personal manager for Moto2 rider Jake Dixon helped Leon Camier win the BSB title with Yamaha.

He then returned to WorldSBK in 2010 to become the crew chief for two-time world champion James Toseland, who replaced Ben Spies at Yamaha Sterilgarda.

Berita Terkait:  Ducati: Yamaha and Honda Deserve Concessions Due to MotoGP Struggles in 2023

He was also one of the crew members who helped Valentino Rossi test WorldSBK with Yamaha in Misano after breaking his leg in 2010.

He then moved to MotoGP, working for the Aspar Team in 2017. However, after Aspar Team withdrew from MotoGP, Carchedi moved to Suzuki Ecstar and became Joan Mir’s crew chief in 2019.

They successfully won the MotoGP world title in 2020, Suzuki’s last title since the GP500 in 2000.

Santi Hernandez – Crew Chief Joan Mir

Santi Hernandez began his career in GP500 in 1999 with Repsol Honda as a suspension technician for Alex Criville. In the same year, they successfully became world champions.

Hernandez also served as a suspension technician for Valentino Rossi in the same squad in 2002-2003.

Hernandez then moved to Moto2 in 2011 to become Marc Marquez’s crew chief at the CatalunyaCaixa Repsol squad.

In the same year, they finished as runners-up behind Stefan Bradl before winning the 2012 season.

When Marquez moved to MotoGP in 2013, Hernandez decided to follow, returning to Repsol Honda.

During their partnership in the premier class, this duo successfully won six world titles in 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018, and 2019. (*)


hari kesaktian pancasila